LibGuides: Musicology: Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Music Online provides access to hundreds of thousands of audio recordings and 400,000 pages of scores.

Most of the listed databases provide full text, but many also contain abstracts and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a note of the bibliographic reference and then use Find e-journals to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases. Should the journal not be available electronically, use the library catalogue to request the article.

Subject Databases

Audio and video recordings, full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases listed below.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including music studies and ethnomusicology
EBSCOhost (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching of all the available EBSCOhost databases
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
The Grove Music Online is the worlds premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. It charts the diverse history and culture of music around the globe.
Index to Printed Music This link opens in a new window
This database is a digital finding aid for locating musical works contained in printed collections, sets, and series. IPM indexes individual pieces printed in the complete works of composers, anthologies of music, and other scholarly editions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR now contains the complete back runs of thirty-two scholarly journals dedicated to research and theory in the field of music, and includes journals published in the US, Great Britain, Netherlands, Croatia, Hungary, Germany and France.
Music and dance online This link opens in a new window
Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music. Music Online makes available hundreds of thousands of audio recordings, plus 400,000 pages of scores, 100,000 pages of music reference, and over 500 hours of video. Every object in the collection is indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. Students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This is a music journal resource with more than 1.3 million articles (majority from 1996+), plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular. An unrivalled resource for music research, it t provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals. No other individual resource has comparable index-plus-full text coverage.
Music Periodicals Database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. You can find articles on a diverse array of musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock musicians.
Music Index with Full text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present.
Database on trial to 30 April 2024
Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music
The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
features citations, abstracts and subject indexing. It provides broad yet detailed coverage, and facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels. From hip hop to Händel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM is the first stop for the researcher who wants clear, verified bibliographic information that is fully cited, abstracted, and indexed.
RISM Serials A/ll: All Music Manuscripts after 1600 This link opens in a new window
This database is an annotated index of music manuscripts held in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections around the world. It is published by the Répertoire International des Sources Musicale (International Inventory of Musical Sources), an international non-profit organization that aims to document the world's musical sources from the earliest times.

Find e-journals

Search for the electronic format of journal titles by using the Find e-journals and e-books

Click on the E-Journal Finder link
Type the journal title in the text box
Select the appropriate publisher’s link
Select the required year, volume and issue
Select the required article from the table of contents

Click on the pdf icon for the full-text

Find course reading material/e-reserves

Find e-reserves (prescribed and recommended articles) for your module codes

Find course reading material

Musicology: Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Subject Databases

Find e-journals

Find course reading material/e-reserves

Google scholar