Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Renewals may be done via library catalogue, telephone (+ 27 12 4294164) and at the lending desk.
Postgraduate students may loan 16 books.
Undergraduate students may loan 8 books.
Overdue books will be subject to a fine.
Prescribed and Recommended Books
Prescribed books need to be purchased by the student. Limited copies are housed in the Unisa libraries and may be borrowed, subject to each branch library's lending regulation. A list of Unisa's official booksellers may be found on myUNISA as well as in myStudies@Unisa.
Recommended books may be loaned from the library. These books may be found by module code on Find course reading material and are available in in the library .
Browse the eBook databases to access electronic full-text online. It is useful to sign up for save and search tools. All member sign ups are free of charge and serve to retain previous search results and to activate the alerting tools.
Cambridge eBooks This link opens in a new window
Browse the database by subject, e.g. Social Sciences; Sociology. Search the databse by keyword, e.g. AIDS
eBooks on EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Browse database by subject category, e.g. Health & Medicine; Psychology; Social Sciences. Search database by keyword, e.g. social theory
Emerald Social Sciences Ebook Series Collection This link opens in a new window
Browse the eBook Series Collection titles, e.g. Research in the Sociology of Work
Palgrave Connect E-books (Now Springer) This link opens in a new window
Browse subject collections, e.g. social sciences. Search by keyword, e.g. social theory. Click on, hide unsubscribed content, to access full text.
Sage Knowledge: all Sage ebooks, reference and handbooks titles This link opens in a new window
Browse database for electronic full-text on ebooks and ereference sources on research methodology.
Taylor and Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access the Humanities and Social Sciences eBooks from the Taylor & Francis Group. Search by keyword, e.g. social theory and limit to 'Full access only' for electronic full-text.
Search the library catalogue
When searching for books on the library catalogue you may use the drop down menu for title, author, keyword and subject searches.
New Books in the field of Sociology