LibGuides: History: Reference Sources

Quick Links

Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.

Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.

Dictionary of British history (3rd ed)
Written by over 100 specialist contributors, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC.
Dictionary of Contemporary World History (3rd ed)
This authoritative dictionary distinguishes itself by providing informative and analytical entries on the most important people, organizations and events that have shaped our history from 1900 to the present day.
Dictionary of World history (3rd ed)
This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day.

Britannica Academic Online This link opens in a new window
This is a scholarly, general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents exploring colonial history, culture and society. Included are a number of documents and secondary resources which relate the story of the Empire from the French, Spanish, Portuguese, and German points of view, as well as that of Indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years - throughout the modern era of mass movements.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
This is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. It also includes prominent British figures who have shaped South African history. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
Who's Who and Who Was Who This link opens in a new window
Who's Who is a source of up-to-date autobiographical information about influential people from all walks of life worldwide who have had an impact on British life.