Skip to main content

Johannesburg Branch Library: Home

This guide informs on services, facilities and equipment available to students

Information Desk

Hours (January - November)
Mondays - Fridays: 07h45 – 18h00
Saturdays:  08h00 - 13h00

Hours (December)
Mondays - Fridays: 07h45 – 16h00
Saturdays:  08h00 - 13h00

Contact details
011 630 4531/3/4

Jhblibr@unisa.ac.za


 

 

 

 

Physical address

Johannesburg Branch Library

3rd Floor

29 Rissik Street

Johannesburg 

2000

 

Study Space and WiFi Connectivity

Limited Study space is provided on the 3rd and  additional space on the 4th floor of the Unisa building.  The operating hours of the study on the 3rd floor is the same as that of the library and on the 4th floor is from 6 am to 10 pm . The study space is open 7 days a week.

The internet service via WiFi Connectivity is freely available throughout the precinct of Unisa Johannesburg building for students access to complement their studies with vital online academic information.

 

Welcome

 

The Johannesburg branch library was established to relieve the problems experienced by students in acquiring recommended books and find a suitable study space. The library has an open collection from which students can borrow books for use at home. The library also keeps a reserve collection. This collection can only be loaned out for two hours. Thus giving more students the opportunity to use the book.

 

Lending Services

The library books collection consists of Open Collection and Study Collection as well as Reference Collection.  
Open Collection are books that students can borrow for a period of 21 days and can concurrently renew them three times( terms and conditions apply).
Study Collection consists of recommended books and prescribed books for various academic course modules. However, it is advisable that a student buys his/her personal copy as the library keeps limited copies of study collection.  As a result that the library keeps limited copies of study collection, most of these copies can only be loan out of the library for a period of two hours.
Reference Collection consists of dictionaries and encyclopaedias’ and can be loan out of the library for a period of two hours

Importantly, the library also provides access to some few magazines. A large range of South African, African and international newspapers and magazines are available online through PressMedia which are updated daily.

Library Commons / Training Room

The library common has 25 computers which can be utilised by students for conducting searches using OPAC, Internet, access to Mylife/myUnisa and can also do assignments using Microsoft Application Software. 

The training room is mainly used for trainings and also as a research common for post graduate students.It can accommodate 12 students.

Upcoming Event

Gauteng Region

To learn more about other services in the Gauteng Region, you can visit the website page and Facebook page underneath

 

 

Unisa Library

To learn more about Unisa Library, you can visit the website page and Facebook page underneath

Search Engines

Google Scholar Search