Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agriculture: Home

This subject guide provides access to the Unisa Library's key resources relevant to the fields of Agriculture, Animal Health and related sciences.

Home

Follow us!

      

Library Video

View this introductory video on the library!

Disclaimer

Due to contractual and licencing agreements, access to some content may be restricted to the Unisa community.

Inclusion in this LibGuide does not imply University or Library endorsement of the ideas expressed.

Welcome

This subject guide provides access to the Library's key resources relevant to the field of Agriculture, Animal Health and related sciences.  

Explore the different resources and contact your librarian if you need any assistance.

 

A-Z list of Databases

Database of the Month

ScienceDaily: Agriculture News

News on Agricultural Sciences from Science Daily

Loading ...

Subject Guide

Leslie Adriaanse's picture
Leslie Adriaanse
Contact:
ladriaan@unisa.ac.za

218 Science Library
Unisa Science Campus
Florida
+27 11 471 2301

Copyright Notice

In accordance with the Unisa Policy for copyright infringement and plagiarism, you are personally accountable for respecting copyright and licensing requirements. Violation of any of these restrictions could result not only in the loss of your own access to the information resources, but in the loss of access for the entire Unisa community. Disciplinary action may also be taken in terms of any applicable policy or disciplinary code, for example, the Unisa Student's Disciplinary Code.

ScienceDaily: Animal Health & Veterinary Sciences News

News on Animal Health and Veteriary medicine from Science Daily

Loading ...

Books

Tips

Renewals may be done via library catalogue, telephone (+ 27 12 4294164)  and at the lending desk.

Postgraduate students may loan 16 books.

Undergraduate students may loan 8 books.

Overdue books will be subject to a fine.

Recommended Books

Prescribed books need to be purchased by the student. Limited copies are housed in the Unisa libraries and may be borrowed, subject to each branch library's lending regulation. A list of Unisa's official booksellers may be found on myUNISA .

Recommended books may be loaned from the library. Type your module code into the text box provided to locate your recommended book(s).

Course Code Search

New Books - Agricultural Science

New Books - Agriculture

Loading ...

Print Books

Search the library catalogue

When searching for books on the library catalogue you may use the drop down menu for title, author, keyword and subject searches. 


Advanced Keyword Search

Google Books

Google Book Search

New books - Animal Life

Loading ...

Journal Articles

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Find e-Reserves

Course Code Search

Open Access Journals

Theses and Dissertations

Tips

Dissertations are useful for identifying research opportunities.

Very useful for generating reading lists.

Theses and dissertation related websites

International

Reference Sources

Tips

Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library. 

Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.

Internet Sites

Tips

Be careful when selecting information from websites as this information can be added by anyone.

Information from subject databases is more reliable than internet sites.

Social Networking sites

Newspapers

Quick Links

Tips

The following newspapers are available on microfilm in the Audio-visual Collection on level 4 of the Main Library:

  • Argus (Cape)
  • Beeld
  • Burger
  • Cape Times
  • Natal Mercury
  • New Nation
  • Pretoria News
  • Star

Contact number : +27 12 429-3209

South African

Search South African news articles according to subjects

International

General Newspapers

Referencing

Tips

Please confirm the referencing style with the academic staff member in charge of your research.

Some referencing methods have minor variations e.g. Harvard, Augmented Harvard and Harvard British Standard.

Be consistent when using a certain style.

Reference Management Software Tools

Mendeley Institutional access via Off-campus

Plagarism Detection Software

Turnitin is a tool to used to check for plagiarism. A researcher's work is instantly checked for potential plagiarism by comparing it against the world's largest comparison database using pattern recognition algorithms.

Please contact your supervisor/ style leader to arrange for access.

Refer to the Unisa Policy for Copyright Infringement & Plagiarism for further information

Free plagiarism software

http://www.plagtracker.com/

http://www.plagiarism-detect.com/

10 free plagiarism checkers:

http://elearningindustry.com/top-10-free-plagiarism-detection-tools-for-teachers

Research Support

New Books on Research Methodology

Loading ...

Tips

Plagiarism is considered to be academic dishonesty. Use a reference management software tool to cite other author's work.

If you need electronic access you can limit your search on the library catalogue to e-books.

Research Methodology Books For Agriculture and related sciences

Free Apps for Research

Open Educational Resources

Citation Analysis

COVID-19

E-resources with COVID-19 collections

OERs for Agriculture

Predatory Publishing and Quality Journals