Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DITSONG Museums of South Africa
DITSONG Museums an amalgamation of eight national museums, seven in Tshwane and one in Johannesburg. These museums have diverse collections covering the fields of fauna and flora, palaeontology, military history, cultural history, geology, anthropology and archaeology.
Iziko Museums of South Africa is a declared national heritage institution established as a flagship museum bringing together 11 museums under a single governance and leadership structure.
KwaZulu-Natal Museum, Pietermaritzburg
The KwaZulu-Natal Museum ranks among the top National Museums in South Africa is a cultural and natural history museum renowned for its unique collections.
Maropeng is the official visitors' centre of the Cradle of Humankind and the Sterkfontein Caves.
Museums of KwaZulu-Natal
A list of the museums in KwaZulu-Natal and their unique and fascinating cultural items.
National Museum, Bloemfontein
Established in 1877, the National Museum in Bloemfontein is a natural history, cultural history and art museum. Its mission is to provide heritage resources to everyone through quality research, conservation, education and exhibitions.
Origins Centre, Wits
Africa is where our ancestors evolved into human beings; it’s only fitting then that the bustling metropolis of Johannesburg, South Africa, is where the Origins Centre has been established. The Origins Centre is a world-class museum dedicated to exploring and celebrating the history of modern humankind, telling the story of the emergence of human beings and humanity in southern Africa.
Pitt Rivers Museum
The Pitt Rivers Museum cares for the University of Oxford's collection of anthropology and world archaeology.
The British Museum
The British Museum is dedicated to human history and culture. Its permanent collection is among the largest and most comprehensive in existence and originates from all continents, illustrating and documenting the story of human culture from its beginnings to the present.
The Smithsonian Museums
Founded in 1846, the Smithsonian is the world's largest museum and research complex, consisting of 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoological Park, and nine research facilities.
Archival Platform (SA)
The Archival Platform focuses on the memory, cultural practices, artefacts, places as well as the documentary record of South Africa's history and the discourse around re/making the past in the present.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organisation that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
National Anthropological Archives & Human Studies Film Archives
This Archive collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Its collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include field notes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other pre-eminent scholars.
National Archives (UK)
The national archive for England, Wales and the United Kingdom with over 1,000 years of the nation's records.
National Archives (US)
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the United States’ record keeper.
National Archives of South Africa (NASA)
NASA is a special resource for dealing with the social memory of the nation and with protecting its people's rights. It is a major resource for fostering a national identity. It is also a treasure house of national memory resources that is accessible to all.