Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the artice.
South African Journals
Access these eJournals on South African content.
Full-text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases. Make use of keywords and keyword combinations to find relevant articles to your research topic.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage with full-text for over 3,900 peer reviewed journals.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database coverage of African Studies and African HealthLink which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Most important database that covers full-text for nursing and allied health journals in over 600 peer-reviewed journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to over 580 scholarly, full-text journals, focusing on medical and nursing topics.
Lippencott Nursing Journals This link opens in a new window
OVID database covers full-text of nursing journals on practice, education, research and administration.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
The MEDLINE database provides authorative mediacl information on medicine, nursing and the health care system.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the US National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Pre-Determined Keyword Searches
The following are links to pre-determined keyword searches and these are self-updating. After clicking on each link, a list of articles will come up containing keywords covering the theme. Not all the articles may be relevant. Select those articles which you think may be applicable to your approach of the topic. Select the pdf option for downloading your article, or mark and email the selected pdf article to yourself by using the email function.
Find course reading material/e-reserves
Ranked Journals in the field of Nursing
Browse the TOC's of these ranked journals to see what is published in the field of nursing.