Examples of databases classified according to the categories:
-
Comprehensive Subject-Specific Citation Databases:
- PubMed: Focuses on biomedical literature, including articles from medical journals, life sciences, and related fields. It provides bibliographic information, abstracts, and citation data.
- PsycINFO: Specializes in psychology and related disciplines, indexing scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and other sources with bibliographic details and citation data.
- MathSciNet: Covers mathematical literature, including journals, conference proceedings, and books, providing bibliographic information and citation indexing for articles in mathematics and related areas.
-
Full-Text Databases:
- JSTOR: Offers access to a vast collection of full-text scholarly articles across multiple disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- ScienceDirect: Provides full-text access to scientific, technical, and medical research articles from a wide range of journals published by Elsevier.
- ProQuest Central: Aggregates full-text articles from various disciplines, including arts, business, health, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology.
-
Open Access Comprehensive Databases:
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Aims to index and provide access to high-quality, peer-reviewed open access journals across all disciplines.
- PubMed Central (PMC): Hosts free full-text articles in the life sciences and biomedical fields, including research articles, reviews, and other scholarly content.
- arXiv.org: A preprint repository for scientific research articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering, systems science, and economics.
These examples illustrate the diversity of databases available to researchers, each serving specific purposes and catering to different information needs. Depending on the research topic, access requirements, and desired functionalities, researchers can choose the most suitable database or combination of databases to support their work.
