Research Skills: E-Books

• Open Summon
• Type in the keywords under the All Fields or use the drop down arrow to change to author/title etc
• Choose your publication dates 
• Use the bar under the content type filter and find Book/eBook and tick the block
• A list of publications will appear
• Under each publication it will inform you whether it is a print or ebook.

Limit to e-books only

• On the left hand pane, scroll down until you see Genre
• Use the drop down arrow and limit to electronic books (this removes the print books)
• Click on Full Text Online
• Enter your student number and myunisa password for authentification
• The e-book will open

Subject specific library guides list all the relevant electronic e-book databases in the field.

To access, go to http://www.unisa.ac.za/library , click on Catalogue Search

• To select your search option, use the drop down menu and select Subject
• Type your subject in the search box, e.g. Training
•  Using the drop-down menu, change View entire collection to E-books
• Click on Submit
• A list of subject headings will appear
•  Click on a subject heading to view the individual titles of the e-books
• Click on a title to view the full details of the e-book
•  Click on the Website link to view the electronic version of the e-book
• Off-campus users will be prompted for their login information before being allowed access to the full-text content of the e-book

Use the library’s e-book database collections to find e-books on your topic. Each database has its own specific format so it is recommended that you use the online help screens or instruction pages for each database. Remember that the library may not necessarily have access to all the titles held by the database, but this will be indicated.  

• Go to Find e-resources 
• Go to All Database Types and use the drop down arrow and click on eBooks.
•  Using the alphabetical list, select the relevant e-book collection by clicking on the database title, eg. Cambridge Books Online to open a search screen
•  Enter the topic in the search box
•  Limit to full-text should the database allow this
•   Click on Search to display the list of results
•  If a list of e-book titles is displayed, click on a title to view the Table of Contents and select the relevant chapter to view
•  If a list of e-book chapters is displayed, open or download the chapter to view

 COPYING, DOWNLOADING, PRINTING AND SAVING

 Due to copyright restrictions, only limited printing, downloading and/or saving is allowed on many of the databases. 

The following usually applies:

•  Copying – text can be highlighted and copied
•   Printing – either page by page or the whole chapter if in pdf format
•   Downloading – available if in pdf format
•  e-mailing – cannot e-mail individual books but some databases allow lists of titles to be e-mailed

To access, go to http://www.unisa.ac.za/library , click on Catalogue Search

•  To select your search option, use the drop down menu and select Author
• Type the surname before the first name in the search box, eg. for the author Barry Smith type in Smith Barry
• Using the drop-down menu, change View entire collection to E-Books
•  Click on Submit
•  A list of publications by the selected author will appear
• Click on the required title to view the full details of the e-book
• Click on the link in the Connect to box to view the electronic version of the e-book
• Off-campus users will be prompted for their login information before being allowed to access the full-text content of the e-book

Individual e-book titles can be found using the library Catalogue.

To access, go to http://www.unisa.ac.za/library , click on Search the catalogue

TITLE

•  Type the exact title in the search box, eg. Tradition and theology
• Using the drop-down menu, change View entire collection to E-books
•  Click on Submit
•  The search results will appear
• Click on the required title to view the full details of the e-book
• Click on the link in the Connect to box to view the electronic version of the e-book
• Off-campus users will be prompted for their login information before being allowed to access the full-text content of the e-book

To access, go to http://www.unisa.ac.za/library , click on Catalogue Search

• To select your search option, use the drop down menu and select Keyword
•  Type your keyword in the search box, eg. Leadership
•  Using the drop-down menu, change View entire collection to E-books
• Click on Submit
• The search result(s) will appear with the most relevant titles displayed first
• Click on the required title to view the full details of the e-book
• Click on the Website link to view the electronic version of the e-book
•  Off-campus users will be prompted for their login information before being allowed to access the full text content of the e-book