Skip to Main Content

Research Skills: Conducting a Literature Search

A step-by-step approach to ensure that you possess the key skills required to find, retrieve and evaluate information on your research topic.

Library Catalogue

The App is also available as a web app at: http://www.libanywhere.com/m/917

Conveniently:

  • Log into your library account
  • Scan any book’s barcode to check if the Unisa Library has the book in its collection
  • Search the Library catalogue
  • Request material
  • Renew items
  • Locate a branch near you

SpringerLink

SpringerLink

When you are 'on the go' or away from your desk, tap into SpringerLink to access one of the largest collections of scientific information.
SpringerLink is a publication database containing articles and chapters from over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 50,000 books – in total, over 6 million documents covering every area of science, technology and medicine. The SpringerLink app puts this entire collection at your fingertips.
This free app provides a valuable set of features, including:
- Personalized searches
- Advanced search
- Document details - including abstracts
- Bookmark and save documents for easy access later
- Share document summaries with colleagues

PubMed

PubMed

Search the PubMed database of over 21 million citations for biomedical articles and life science journals

Features:


Keyword search with options
Save search query
Save citations
Email citations
View abstract
Link to full text article if available

Post a comment on an article to the public

Write a note to yourself
View public comments on an article

search by PubMed ID, just enter the id in the search box

EbscoHost

EbscoHost

  • Download the app onto your device:


  • Go to EbscoHost webpage and scroll down to the end of the page. Click on 'Iphone and Android Apps'. 
  • Type in your e-mail address and click on 'Send'.
  • Access the e-mail on your device and tap on the authentication key provided in the email.

JSTOR

JSTOR

This is an unofficial app that helps you navigate the JSTOR site more easily than a bookmarked webpage.
JSTOR is a growing full-text collection of core social science, humanities and science journals, with some backfiles that date back to the early 1800s. Subject fields include anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature, and biology.

Research Highlights

Research Highlights is a FREE app which supports users in their key task of keeping up-to-date with newly-published research.

It enables this task to be performed across over 20,000 journals from all major publishers.

Users can define their article feed by:

Following all peer-reviewed articles matching the keyword(s) that are most relevant to them and/or
Following one or more of over 20,000 journals from all major publishers and/or
Following one or more author(s)

Users are then able to scan through the list of newly-published articles that match their selection criteria.

When scanning, they can view the article with one click (when available), as well as the full abstract and article-related information.

With another click, users can select the article and send the URL directly to their email address, which provides a link to the abstract or full-text version.

From their workstation, users can then click on the emailed links and go through to the full-text article