First steps in research
by
At some point in their academic careers, most tertiary-level students will engage in planning and executing research projects. The fundamental aspect of higher education often appears daunting, but it need not be. First steps in research leverages the latest local and international perspectives to provide theoretical and practical guidelines on conducting and reporting research at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
Research at grass roots : for the social sciences and human service professions
by
The Literature Review
by
The essential guide--updated, expanded, and easier to use than ever. Creating a successful literature review can be a daunting task, which is why so many researchers have relied on previous editions of this book to make the process more manageable. Using the six-step model, you'll work seamlessly to narrow your research topic, focus your literature search, negotiate the myriad of books, periodicals, and reports about your topic--and, of course, write the review. Updated, expanded, and reorganized to improve ease of use, the fourth edition of this bestselling handbook includes: New and improved graphics ideal for visualizing the process More explanations and tips, especially for writing in the early stages An expanded range of learning tools Additional reflection sections to direct metacognitive activities Four new reference supplements This pioneering book has provided countless graduate students and researchers with a road map to success. Its model takes you through the logical progression needed for producing a quality literature review--while taking the mystery out of the process.
How to Design and Develop a Business Research Project
by
Through a fascinating exploration of the advantages and pitfalls of business research methods, this essential book encourages the reader to make well-informed decisions in an often fast-paced environment. It sets out key rules and procedures to ultimately improve the accuracy and authenticity of research ventures. Providing crucial insight from highly regarded business professionals, this innovative book offers an illustrative guide to aid practitioners in the following: Designing and evaluating business research on its reliability, validity, and rigour. Understanding the utilization of data and digital technologies in research projects. Fully grasping research terminology and employing a succinct research template in practical contexts. How to Design and Develop a Business Research Projectwill be vital for business and management professionals seeking to further develop strategies and collaborative research skills within the sector. It will additionally be highly beneficial for academics striving to grasp the context and mindset of business and management research.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design
by
In the Fifth Editionof the bestselling text Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: Choosing Among Five Approaches, John W. Creswell and Cheryl N. Poth guide researchers in selecting the best option for their studies by exploring, evaluating, and applying five qualitative research approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. For each of these qualitative inquiry traditions, the authors explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, defining features, common data procedures, and writing structures. With expanded content reflecting technological developments in the qualitative research process, more inclusivity and diversity in examples, and updated references, the Fifth Editionis an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative research. Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association′s The McGuffey Longevity AwardIncluded with this title:LMS Cartridge: Import this title's instructor resources into your school's
The Craft of Research
by
With more than a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has guided generations of readers at all levels to become better researchers, thinkers, and communicators. The original authors--all of them legendary teachers--believed that research is a communal activity and illustrated how to choose meaningful topics, make sound and compelling arguments, and convey these arguments effectively in writing for the benefit of other researchers. While preserving the book's proven approach to the research process, as well as its distinctive voice and general structure, this new edition recognizes the more diverse ways research is conducted and communicated today.
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers
by
The author assumes that the reader has no prior knowledge of research methodology or experience of carrying out research. She takes the reader step by step through each stage of preparing for, carrying out, and writing up a research project
Designing qualitative research
by
This bestselling text has been relied upon by thousands of graduate students to provide guidance on the different qualitative research genres, building a conceptual framework, and preparing the proposal. Students have appreciated the clarity of the content and writing, the useful examples, tools, and vignettes, and the extensive guide to recommended reading at the end of each chapter. Designing Qualitative Research, Seventh Edition has been updated within the contexts of 2020 during which it was writte
Decolonizing Methodologies
by
To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.
Handbook of Research Methods for Organisational Culture
by
This innovative Handbook explores the complexity of cultural, conceptual and definitional issues surrounding research into organisational culture, outlining the varied frameworks and theories that underpin the field. International contributors present a broad range of qualitative and quantitative research methods that can be used in organisational culture measurement. They explore topics of special contemporary interest, such as high performance cultures, corporate entrepreneurship, organisational culture in nonprofits and safety culture, unpacking the textured relationships between leadership style, organisational culture and organisational outcomes. Highlighting key implications for organisational values and ethical climate, the Handbook provides practical guidance on how to move from culture assessment to action and improvement. Offering a critical outline for measurement approaches and tools, this Handbook is crucial reading for researchers and students of organisation studies, particularly those focusing on culture and leadership of organisations. It also provides practical insights for business consultants and senior management teams, proposing methods and frameworks for developing positive organisational cultures to improve the productivity, performance and quality of businesses.
Research Design in the Social Sciences
by
A state-of-the-art approach to evaluating research design for students and scholars across the social sciences Assessing the properties of research designs before implementing them can be tricky for even the most seasoned researchers. This book provides a powerful framework--Model, Inquiry, Data Strategy, and Answer Strategy, or MIDA--for describing any empirical research design in the social sciences. MIDA enables you to characterize the key analytic features of observational and experimental designs, qualitative and quantitative designs, and descriptive and causal designs. An accompanying algorithm lets you declare designs in the MIDA framework, diagnose properties such as bias and precision, and redesign features like sampling, assignment, measurement, and estimation procedures. Research Design in the Social Sciences is an essential tool kit for the entire life of a research project, from planning and realization of design to the integration of your results into the scientific literature. A must-have resource for current and future researchers who want to learn about the properties of their designs before they implement them Includes a library of the most common designs in the social sciences Provides a complete declaration of the canonical design for each library entry, describes the circumstances under which the design can be strong or weak, and explores the consequences of the choices under the research designer's control Accompanied by online resources that can be used in conjunction with the book An ideal textbook for graduate students and advanced undergraduates