LibGuides: Unisa Institutional Repository (UnisaIR): Institutional Repositories Overview

Access the Unisa Insitutional Repository (UnisaIR)

The Unisa Institutional Repository, named UnisaIR, is an open access digital archive of scholarly, intellectual and research output of the University of South Africa. The UnisaIR disseminates and preserves theses and dissertations, research output (for example, articles, conference papers, book chapters and inaugural lectures) and many other digital assets produced by members of the Unisa community. It has the benefit of increased global discoverability and visibility of Unisa researchers.

Follow the links below to access and use the UnisaIR:

Login to UnisaIR
You have to login if you want to upload your research outputs to UnisaIR to subscribe to receive alerts (RSS feeds) about new items added to the system. You can specify the collections from which you would like t receive alerts.
Register to UnisaIR
You need to register if you are a new user and with to upload your research articles or receive RSS feeds. Please use your Unisa email address and create a password. Your UnisaIR account is independent from the Unisa network and the password does not have to be renewed every month. Notifiy your Personal Librarian once you have registered and request submission rights to the relevant departmental collection.
Search or browse
You do not have to login if you only want to search the content of the UnisaIR. It is an open access repository.

Forgot your password?
Follow this link to reset your password.

Unisa Institutional Guidelines for submissions
A step-by-step tutorial about submission of items to the UnisaIR.

Library Research Repositories

Unisa Institutional Repository (UnisaIR)
more...less...
An open access digital archive of scholarly, intellectual and research output of the University of South Africa. The UnisaIR disseminates and preserves theses and dissertations, research output (for example, articles, conference papers, book chapters and inaugural lectures) and many other digital assets produced by members of the Unisa community. It has the benefit of increased global discoverability and visibility of Unisa researchers.
Unisa Research Data Repository
more...less...
This is a database of reseach data sets of Unisa researchers and post graduated students,
Unisa Library Digital Collections
more...less...
This database consists of various digitised archival materials, for example the Thabo Mbeki Presidential Collection.

Other Open Access Repositories

UnisArXiv
University of South Africa Press Preprint Platform
more...less...
a cutting-edge preprint server for the University of South Africa Press, powered by ScienceOpen. Over the last few years, preprint servers have become increasingly attractive to publishers as strides have been made in improving this technology, such as in the assigning of digital object identifiers that make preprints a better, more trackable form of scientific communication.
AfricArXiv
The Pan-African Open Access Portal
more...less...
AfricArXiv is a community-led digital archive for African research, working towards building an African-owned open scholarly repository; a knowledge commons of African scholarly works to catalyze the African Renaissance. We partner with established scholarly repository services to provide a platform for African scientists of any discipline to present their research findings and connect with other researchers on the African continent and globally
Pubmed Central (PMC)
more...less...
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free digital repository that archives open access full-text scholarly articles that have been published in biomedical and life sciences journals.
As one of the major research databases developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed Central is more than a document repository.

Directory to Open Access Repositories

Directory to Open AccessRepositories (OpenDOAR)

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.