Stern's introductory plant biology by
"Plants and algae are essential for life on earth as it exists today. They provide our world with oxygen and food, make an essential contribution to water and nutrient cycling in ecosystems, provide clothing and shelter, and add beauty to our environment. Some scientists believe that if photosynthetic organisms exist on planets beyond our solar system, it would be possible to sustain other forms of life that depend upon them to survive. Botany today plays a special role in many interests of both major and nonmajor students.
Understanding Management by
Even before recent upheavals, managers and organizations were buffeted by competitive, social, technological and economic change. Today's managers face more demands than ever before in the scramble to cope with the turbulence of recent events, ethical and social turmoil, mobile commerce, economic instability, globalization, cybersecurity threats, increasing government regulation and global supply chains. This edition helps you, as a future manager, find leading-edge solutions to significant problems -- whether everyday challenges or once-in-a-lifetime crises. Content extends beyond techniques traditionally taught to encompass a breadth of management skills and new competencies you can use to face today's issues.
Human rights in Southern Africa : theory and practice by
Against Translation is a text by American poet Kenneth Goldsmith (born 1961) published in eight volumes--English, French, Spanish, German, Chinese, Japanese, Russian and Arabic. The author discusses the impasses and shortcomings of translation and the virtures of an unapologetic linguistic "displacement." "Translation is the ultimate humanist gesture," he states. "Polite and reasonable, it is an overly cautious bridge builder ... in the end, it always fails, for the discourse it sets forth is inevitably off-register." Displacement, by contrast, never explains itself. Goldsmith cites the example of Mexican-American poet M nica de la Torre, who, in the middle of a presentation at a 2010 poetics conference at Columbia, "broke out, full on, for ten minutes entirely in Spanish, leaving all those who pay lip service to multilingualism and diversity angry because they couldn't understand what she was saying. De la Torre thereafter resumed her talk in English, never mentioning her intervention ... Comprehension is optional; displacement is concretely demonstrative."
International economics : theory and policy by
A balanced, global approach to economic theory and policy applications
International Economics: Theory and Policy provides engaging, balanced coverage of the key concepts and practical applications of theory and policy around the world. Divided into two halves, with the first devoted to trade and the second to monetary questions, the text provides an intuitive introduction to theory and events as well as detailed coverage of the actual policies put into place as a response. In the 12th Edition, important economic developments are highlighted, with many lessons drawn from the recent COVID-19 pandemic experience. Using examples like these, the text equips students with the intellectual tools for understanding the changing world economy and economic implications of global interdependence.
Risk Management and Financial Institutions by
This latest edition also offers:
Updated ancillary and digital materials covering all the latest content, including software, practice questions, and teaching supplements
Access to an updated website that reflects the new content
Fulsome coverage of the most important financial market developments since the publication of the fifth edition, including regulatory changes, the growing importance of climate risk, the use of machine learning models, and the disappearance of LIBOR
A must-have resource for undergraduate and graduate students of business and finance, Risk Management and Financial Institutions, Sixth Edition, cements this celebrated text as the gold standard in risk management resources
Economics of Maritime Business by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the economics of the business of maritime transport. It provides an economic explanation of four aspects of maritime transport, namely, the demand, the supply, the market and the strategy.
The book first explains why seaborne trade happens and what its development trends are; it then analyses the main features of shipping supply and how various shipping markets function; the book finally addresses the critical strategic issues of the shipping business. The full range of different types of shipping are covered throughout the chapters and cases. The book combines the basic principles of maritime transport with the modern shipping business and the latest technological developments, particularly in the area of digital disruption. The ideas and explanations are supported and evidenced by practical examples and more than 160 tables and figures. The questions posed by the book are similar to those that would be asked by the students in their learning process or the professionals in the business environment, with the answers concentrating on the reasons for what has happened and will happen in the future rather than merely fact-telling or any specific forecast.
The book is most suited for students of shipping-related disciplines, and is also a valuable reference for maritime professionals.
Clashing Symbols by
Faith and Culture has become a field of crucial importance in recent years. Clashing Symbols breaks new ground in presenting a wide area of reflection on the relationship between faith and the powerful cultural contexts surrounding believers today. Michael Paul Gallagher introduces readers to the main insights, theories, and controversies being discussed by individuals and church bodies.Early chapters discuss the many meanings of culture, then specifically religious responses to culture, focusing on Vatican II and resolutions from the World Council of Churches. Themes concerning modernity and postmodernity are explored in detail, especially from a religious point of view. The final four chapters deal with more pastoral themes: the challenges of inculturation, discernment, youth ministry and the outlines of a spirituality for today's culture. Drawing on the work of some of the leading thinkers in the field, this clearly written work is a natural for specialists and academics. It will also be valuable for anyone who wishes to understand the increasing relevance of culture for theology and for religious commitment today. In addition, it will also help "ordinary" Christians to understand the realities and challenges of contemporary culture with wisdom, with confidence, and in the light of faith
Marketing Management in Africa by
This multidisciplinary approach is supplemented with many examples and cases from a variety of sectors including health care, wind and solar power, and mobile technology. Through these, readers are able to understand how the model is implemented in reality to drive innovative economic and social development. Marketing Management in Africa will prove a valuable companion to any student of marketing or entrepreneurship with a particular interest in Africa.
Social Work with Children and Families by
Working with children and families is one of the most challenging, skilled, but ultimately rewarding, areas of social work practice. Social workers need to be able to work with a diverse group of children and their families: from babies to teenagers, single parents to two-parent families and multi-carer families, as well as with a diverse group of professionals, such as the police, schools, hospitals, health centres and various community organisations. They need to be able to understand the law, policy and legislation that surrounds social work with children and families, while continually developing their own skills. Such skills include communication, preparation and planning, intervention, recognition, identification and assessment of significant harm, recording and report writing, managing oneself and the work, problem solving, research and analysis and decision making. This fully revised new edition aims to guide you through all of these areas and more.
Chemistry and Chemical Reactivity by
Succeed in chemistry with the clear explanations, problem-solving strategies, and dynamic study tools of CHEMISTRY & CHEMICAL REACTIVITY. Thorough instruction helps you develop a deeper understanding of general chemistry concepts through an emphasis on the visual nature of chemistry and the close interrelationship of the macroscopic, symbolic, and particulate levels of chemistry. The art program illustrates each of these levels in engaging detail.. Interactive study aids in OWLv2, such as Interactive Examples and Adaptive Learning Activities, help you master concepts.
Sociology of education : custom publication by 
Colonial legacies and the rule of law in Africa : Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zimbabwe by
This book focuses on the continued impact of British colonial legacy on the rule of law in Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
The legal system is intended to protect regular citizens, but within the majority of Africa the rule of law remains infused with Eurocentric cultural and linguistic tropes, which can leave its supposed beneficiaries feeling alienated from the structures intended to protect them. This book traces the impact, effect, opportunities, and challenges that the colonial legacy poses for the rule of law across Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. The book examines the similarities and differences of the colonial legacy on the current legal landscape of each nation and the intersection with the rule of law.
This important comparative study will be of interest to scholars of Political Science, International Studies, Law, African Politics, and British Colonial History.
Introducing Translation Studies by
The most comprehensive, up to date and pedagogically developed introduction to translation studies available
*widely adopted and long-established as the standard introduction to translation studies on courses worldwide, usable and used on both postgraduate courses in translation studies and on translation courses within modern languages
*unlike any other book, offers a wide range of pedagogical material for students and support material for instructors: a fully revised companion website includes video introductions to accompany each chapter, online exercises, an interactive timeline and weblinks; instructors are supported with powerpoint slides to use in teaching; an enhanced eBook version is also available
Farm management by
This text is developed for the first course in Farm Management, typically taken by a junior/senior level student. Designed to introduce students to the key concepts on how to effectively manage a farm business, the tenth edition provides students with the basic information needed to measure management performance, financial progress, and the financial condition of the farm business.
Pelong Ya Ka by
Pelong ya Ka, a collection of essays and sketches in Sotho was first published in 1962 in the Bantu Treasury Series imprint of Witwatersrand University Press. S. Machabe Mofokeng is regarded as one of the greatest essayist and dramatist in Southern Sotho. His first book, Senkatana (a play) was published in 1952.
Pelong ya Ka comprises 20 essays which range from meditative, descriptive, and narrative to polemic style, with the tone of voice characterised by melancholy, humour, and satire. The essays span over a wide range of themes, as suggested by their titles, e.g. Pelo (The heart), Bodutu ('Solitude'), Death ('Lefu'), Nako ('Time'), Pampiri ('Paper'), Ho kganna mmotokara ('Driving an automobile'), Sepetlele ('Hospital'), Lenyalo ('Matromony'), and Boqheku ('Old age').
Marketing Metrics by 
Stuarts' Field Guide to National Parks and Game Reserves - Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Malawi by
The first book ever to document and explore the diverse parks and reserves of Africa's 'middle belt', this user-friendly travelers' field guide covers Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Malawi and Zambia. The region contains world-famous landscapes, such as the Namib and Kalahari deserts, Okavango Delta, Victoria Falls and Lake Malawi, and some of Africa's best-known conservation areas, including Etosha, Chobe, Mana Pools, Hwange, Kafue and Nyika Plateau.Structured regionally,the guide presents each park under the following headings: brief history; location (with detailed map); geology, landscapes and climate; vegetation types; fauna (most notable mammals, birds reptiles, amphibians); key facts and highlights of each park; accommodation types; and best times to visit. Detailed maps and full-color images support the text, and there's also a concise photographic ID guide for easy identification, featuring the birds, mammals, amphibians, reptiles and trees most commonly seen in the reserves.
Trade Liberalisation and Economic Development in Africa by
This book provides a thorough and rigorous discussion on the impact of trade liberalisation on economic development with a special focus on the African continent. The author presents the rationale for trade liberalisation, trade liberalisation frameworks, the trade liberalisation economic development nexus, impediments to trade, and contemporary issues of international trade.
Strategies for Supply Chain Risk Management by
Examining the negative consequences that arise from supply chain risks, this book systematically explores firms' responses to these risks in different situations. In particular, it focuses on sourcing strategies of firms under supply chain risks and the different mitigation tools they use, such as supplier development and multisourcing.
Supply chains have expanded extensively because many firms try to take advantage of outsourcing of their raw materials and critical components. Though firms can reap significant benefits due to the widespread use of outsourcing, they have to deal with increasing supply chain risks. In general, supply chain risks are various and may be originated from natural disasters, labor strikes, fires, and so on. These risk incidents can cause serious damage to firms' profit performance.
The analysis and insights from this book can be utilized by firms to alleviate the impact of supply chain risks in the sourcing process. It will also be of interest to researchers and students studying supply chain management.
Making Sense of Stakeholder Management by
Drawing back on the ever-evolving stakeholder management theory, this book responds to calls for more empirical research into the managerial sense making of the stakeholder concept.
The book explores how managers make sense of stakeholder management, especially in complex and challenging business contexts. Therefore, this book contributes to the advancement of the managerial branch of the stakeholder management theory focussing on managers' sense making intended as how they interpret and understand social interactions.
With this book, the authors offer a contribution grounded on the what, why, when, who and how of stakeholder management, which are questions that still arouse considerable interest not only between academics, but also among practitioners.
Understanding Human Information Behavior by
This introductory textbook aims to provide undergraduate students in information science and related disciplines with an applied grounding in information behavior. The book's primary focus is to provide explicit links between information behavior and the careers that students will pursue within the information professions. With a deeper understanding of information behavior, students will be better equipped to address the many types of barriers that frequently prevent people from effectively and efficiently accessing, understanding, managing, and/or using the information they need in the "real world."
Engineering Project Management by
Engineering Project Management is a practical, step-by-step guide to project management for engineers. The author - a successful, long-time practicing engineering project manager - describes the techniques and strategies for creating a successful engineering project. The book introduces engineering projects and their management, and then proceeds stage-by-stage through the engineering life-cycle project, from requirements, implementation, to phase-out. The book offers information for understanding the needs of the end user of a product and other stakeholders associated with a project, and is full of techniques based on real, hands-on management of engineering projects.
Safety, Health and Environmental Auditing by
This new edition builds on the success of the first edition. It has been enhanced to embrace new topics including Due Dilgence, EHS Auditing, Process Safety, Auditing, and a chapter summarizing auditing with the relevant ISO standards. The rest of the book has been updated to fit with the guidance and requirements set out with the changes in the ISO standards. The goal of this book remains the same, to provide a "down to earth" guidance for managers and specialists in organizations who are committed to improving their safety, health and environmental performance, but are not sure where to start or do not wish to employ consultants to do this for them. They do it themselves using this book.
Management Organisation and Ethics in the Public Sector by 
Trauma-Informed Pastoral Care by
Clergy are more likely than ever to be called on to respond to community trauma, sitting alongside trauma survivors after natural disasters, racial violence, and difficult losses. In Trauma-Informed Pastoral Care: How to Respond When Things Fall Apart, pastoral psychologist Karen A. McClintock calls clergy to learn and practice "trauma-informed care" so they can respond with competence and confidence when life becomes overwhelming.
Weaving together the latest insights about trauma-informed care from the rapidly shifting disciplines of neuropsychology, counseling, and theology, she explains the body's instinctual stress patterns during and after trauma, guides readers through self-reflection and self-regulation in order to care for others and lower the risk of obtaining secondary trauma, and suggests culturally sensitive models for healing from overwhelming experiences.
Practising learning and development in South African organisations by
Practising Learning and Development in South African Organisations 4e offers an outcomes-based, occupation-directed and work-based L&D approach to workplace learning design. Integrating theoretical and practical perspectives, this book gives a comprehensive overview of the National Skills Development Framework. It further presents a new chapter on online learning design which caters to the needs of a digital society
Frontiers in financial psychology by 
The Evolution of Economic Ideas and Systems by
In order to fully understand the evolution and future growth of economic systems, we must draw on the lessons of economic history. The 2008 Financial Crisis, for example, mirrored past economic meltdowns with uncanny accuracy. Just like the Great Depression of the 1930s and the Savings and Loan Crisis of the 1980s, it featured deregulated lenders taking incredible risks with other people's money. Historical analysis is crucial to understanding trends and patterns that can help us predict the future.
This text presents a ground-breaking, pluralistic introduction to economic history and the history of economic thought. Tracing the development of economic systems and economic thought, the text introduces students to the story from ancient times to contemporary capitalism, and also its critics. Focusing in particular on Smith, Marx, Veblen, and Keynes, the text encourages students to consider which ideas and systems are still relevant in the modern world. This book can be used as a standalone text for relevant classes or as a supplement in any principles course
African Archaeology by
A landmark introduction to the archaeology of Africa that challenges misconceptions & claims about Africa's past and teaches students how to evaluate these claims.
Provides an unprecedented and exciting introduction to the archaeology of Africa
Challenges misconceptions & claims about Africa's past and teaches students how to evaluate these claims
Includes a thoughtful introduction that explores the contexts that have shaped archaeological knowledge of Africa's past
Lays out research questions that have shaped the contours of African archaeology
Comprised of chapters specifically written for this volume by prominent archaeologists with regional and topical expertise
The global politics of the environment by
Debates about the causes and impacts of global environmental degradation go to the heart of economic and political systems and raise fundamental questions about power and inequity in a globalized world. The comprehensively revised 2nd edition of this popular text provides wide-ranging coverage of the international negotiations and on assessment of the international political economy of the environment, normative and policy debates on environmental governance, and of prospects for the pursuit of environmental security.
Developing Number Knowledge by 
Elements of Solid State Physics by